Tech&Science

Darwin’s Lost Fossils Found In Desk Drawer: http://uk.news.yahoo.com/darwins-lost-fossils-found-desk-drawer-152821335.html

The hunt for a real-life Avatar: Will we find life on another planet’s moons?: http://theweek.com/article/index/223105/the-hunt-for-a-real-life-avatar-will-we-find-life-on-another-planets-moons

To Prevent Theft: Car Seat Identifies Drivers Sitting Down: http://techcrunch.com/2011/12/21/car-seat-japan/

Solar Energy Lights up Bangladesh: http://wakeup-world.com/2012/01/10/solar-energy-lights-up-bangladesh/

Thermostat Reinvented to Improve Efficiency: http://www.happynews.com/news/10252011/.htm

British Scientific Expedition Discovers Deepest Known Undersea Vents: http://www.happynews.com/news/1112012/british-scientific-expedition.htm

 

Life

Finding a treatment for Alzheimer’s by 2025: http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-18563_162-57360569/finding-a-treatment-for-alzheimers-by-2025/?tag=strip

Parent Better and Change the World in 2012: http://creatinglifelonglearners.com/?p=989

India Hailed for its First Polio-Free Year: http://www.goodnewsnetwork.org/most-popular/first-polio-free-year-in-india.html

 

Education

Czech Republic, Poland, Hungary and Slovakia Aim to Raise Their Higher Education Profile: http://www.nytimes.com/2012/01/16/world/europe/czech-republic-poland-hungary-and-slovakia-aim-to-raise-their-higher-education-profile.html

Sixty-Eight Publishers – books of dissent: http://www.presseurop.eu/en/content/article/1321271-sixty-eight-publishers-books-dissent

Community Colleges Are Urged to Take Innovative Steps to Serve Immigrant Students: http://chronicle.com/article/Community-Colleges-Are-Urged/130364/

 

Business

Fair Trade Isn’t Enough: Our Unsolved Global Labor Rights Problem: http://www.good.is/post/fair-trade-isn-t-enough-our-unsolved-global-labor-rights-problem/

How SABMiller is Making Green Beer at the Bottom of the Pyramid: http://www.greenbiz.com/blog/2012/01/13/how-sabmiller-making-green-beer-bottom-pyramid?page=0%2C1

The German Economy Grew by 3% in 2011: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-16502165

Brazil’s economy marching to samba beat: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-16407585

 

Environment

At the Consumer Electronics Show, a New Focus on Recycling Old Gadgets: http://www.good.is/post/at-consumer-electronics-show-a-new-focus-on-recycling-old-machines/

Thriving North American Start-up Turns Trash into Source of Power: http://www.goodnewsnetwork.org/most-popular/harvest-power-turns-trash-to-energy.html

 

Debate

Cannabis: Medicine or hard drug?  http://www.presseurop.eu/en/content/news-brief-cover/1029041-cannabis-medicine-or-hard-drug